Skip to content ↓


Curriculum Statement 2017-2018 

At St Nicholas Primary School we offer a curriculum which is broad and balanced and which builds on the knowledge, understanding and skills of all children, whatever their starting points, as they progress through each Key Stage. The curriculum incorporates the statutory requirements of the new National Curriculum 2014 and other experiences and opportunities which best meet the learning and developmental needs of the pupils in our school.  The aim of our curriculum is for pupils to have the requisite skills to be successful, independent and motivated learners in readiness for their next stage of education. We regularly review our curriculum provision. Please click here to read more.

Curriculum Policy

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Teaching in the EYFS setting at St Nicholas CE VA Primary School is delivered in accordance with the Government’s statutory document ‘The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage’ (March 2012). This document is a principled approach to Early Years education, bringing together children’s welfare, learning and development requirements through four themes: ‘A Unique Child’, ‘Positive Relationships’, ‘Enabling Environments’ and ‘Children Learn in Different Ways and at Different Rates’.

The curriculum is centred on 3 prime areas of learning: Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

We also support activities through four specific areas, which strengthen the prime areas.

These are: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding of the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

Play is a very important part of your child’s development and most learning is introduced through a mixture of carefully planned opportunities for play and some adult-led focused activities. We also provide opportunities for your child to choose activities that appeal to them, following their own particular interests. As the Reception year progresses, the learning may start to become more formal, ready for Year 1 and the National Curriculum.

Year 1-Year 6

The National Curriculum is delivered using the Chris Quigley Framework (Essentials), as a basis to ensure coverage and progression throughout the school.  Milestones at the end of Year 2, Year 4 and Year 6 ensure that children are meeting expectations in their learning. The more able are challenged further in their learning and children who find aspects of their learning more difficult are appropriately supported so that they too are enabled to experience success. National requirements and school requirements are mapped out as a whole school and then individual year groups plan the curriculum for their pupils accordingly. These plans are published on our class pages.

Click here to view our ‘Two Year Rolling Programme’ Curriculum Coverage Overview 2 year cycle 2016-2018

The curriculum is underpinned by the school’s Curriculum Drivers: Spiritual and moral development, Community, Risk Taking and Mastery- 2017-2018; these are reviewed annually as part of curriculum review. The spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of our pupils and their understanding of the core values of our society are also woven through the curriculum.

Maths, English, Science and Computing are taught separately in KS1 and KS2. All other subjects are taught within topics; these are sometimes blocked. Cross – curricular links are made that encourage the children to apply their knowledge and skills and thus broaden and deepen their understanding.

For further details, please click on our curriculum subject pages or read our Curriculum and Assessment Policies , which can be found on our Policies Page. Please note that our new Curriculum Policy has now been published (March 2018) and is now on our polices page.